Updated
Free to message

Maclaren Street

Ottawa, ON K1R 5K8

Private room with shared bathroom
2 bedrooms
1 bathroom
1 roomie
Rent
$1,150 per month
Bills
Included
Deposit
$1,150
Property type
Apartment
Room furnishing
Furnished
Preferred gender
Females & males (no couples)
Available on
September 1
Stay length
Minimum 2 months

About the room

A spacious bedroom w/ walk-in closet + your own private balcony for rent in a 2-bedroom apartment. Shared spaces include an open-concept kitchen (with dishwasher, stove, fridge, and microwave), dining room, living room, in-unit laundry room, and bathroom.

Rent includes ALL utilities (i.e. water, heating, hydro, and Wi-Fi are included). There is a window AC for your room in summer. Can be furnished or unfurnished.

MINIMUM LEASE: two months notice is required if you move out. No other minimum.

DATE AVAILABLE: Sept 1, 2022.

APARTMENT FEATURES: This is a third floor apartment (no elevator) at 575 Maclaren St., a nine unit, three-story heritage apartment building built in the 1920’s in the heart of Centertown. It is close to Dundonald Park, the Independent Grocer on Bank / Somerset, various bus routes, downtown Ottawa, Canal, Chinatown, and City Hall. It’s a 10 min walk to the Lyon St. LRT station, and nearby bus routes give easy access to Hintonburg, Wellington, Tunney’s Pasture, Rideau, Byward Market, Billings Bridge, and the Glebe.

About the roomies

I’m a full-time Government of Canada employee. I have 2 cats. There are 3 litter boxes in the apartment (in laundry room). I would prefer a roommate without pets (2 is enough for me!).

I’m an introvert (ISFP), and I’m also on the asexual spectrum (LGBTQ+ friendly is a must! ^-^). I’m a homebody (i.e. I’m practically always home), and lastly, I’m a total geek. I love reading, gaming, D&D, vintage clothing, going for walks, art, movies, etc.

I tend to have a few friends over to chill once or twice a week. I’m fine with living with someone who is extroverted, and also someone who isn’t. There’s no pressure for us to be friends, but that’s cool too!

WHAT I WANT IN A ROOMIE:

CLEANING: I’m not a neat freak, but I’d like a roommate who pulls their weight and respects our shared spaces. My main hard limits are leaving dirty dishes out for days, never taking out the trash, consistently leaving rotting food in the fridge, leaving a mess in the washroom, letting odors build up, and not cleaning up spills/dirt in a timely manner.

VISITORS: I don’t mind guests or the occasional overnight visitor, but I don’t want to live with a third roommate (i.e., a significant other always in our shared spaces). Of course, this isn’t a hard rule - exceptions can be made for out of town guests, etc.

SMOKING: No cigarettes/tobacco inside. Weed inside is fine if used in a responsible manner. I don’t want the apartment to always smell of weed though since some of my guests aren’t cool with that.

PARTIES: Just remember I’m an introvert. Home is a place to chill, so I’m not looking to have parties held every weekend at our place.

REFERENCES: Please provide me with the name and number of your current employer for a reference check. I can provide you with roommate and landlord references of my own too. I’ve also completed a background and credit check through Roomies.ca.

If possible, I would like to meet (in person or virtually) before we decide to be roommates. You can meet my previous roommate as well.

Maya's verifications

ID verified
Credit check available

Maya's social media

Facebook
Instagram
Linkedin
List your room or create a profile and verify to view Maya on social media

Rooms ON Ottawa K1R 5K8 Maclaren Street

Contact Maya

See Maya's other listings

Photo of Maya